Garden City Inn

  1120 N Waccamaw Dr, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 (843) 651-5600    support@reviewter.com
Hotel Website

Hotel Description

Welcome to the fresh, clean, recently remodeled Garden City Inn! We`re the right pick of oceanfront hotels Garden City SC travelers can depend on - and we want to meet your needs and go beyond your expectations. You`ll like our oak flooring, new beds, designer furniture, flat-panel televisions and cleanliness guarantee. Plus, our people are great too. Make us your first and best choice of ocean front hotels Murrells Inlet SC can be proud of - and you won`t be sorry. We`re at Garden City Beach on the Atlantic Ocean and near popular Myrtle Beach too. Visit the shopping at Broadway at the Beach and Murrell`s Inlet while you`re here.

62 Reviews from our Reviewter Community

Traveller rating

Service
location
Rooms

Traveller type

Business      (14)
Couples      (13)
Family      (19)
Friends      (3)
Solo      (13)

Language

English

Travellers Reviews

James lipscomb

James lipscomb

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Mark and Mary from wv "


Hade the best of time,Liz was amazing with helping us with r reservation and so helpful,Patrickwas also helpful keeping everything clean and organized and all the other workers done awesome job see u all next year.

Listen Review
Reviewed 25, September 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Faye Bowers

Faye Bowers

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great place to stay!"


My sisters and I have stayed at Garden City Inn twice a year for many years. Very satisfied with room, location and service. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room is always neat and clean. Close to everything we need and right on the ocean. Pets welcome!!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 22, September 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Bill Wimbish

Bill Wimbish

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great place "


As you have noticed this isn't the Hilton but if you're looking for a clean place with great beds right on the beach give Garden inn a chance we loved this place and have made plans to go back in 2024.

Listen Review
Reviewed 25, August 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Vance Gilstrap

Vance Gilstrap

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great place to stay "


We have stayed at GCI many times over the last 5 years, staff has always helped us with anything we need,they are outstanding!!! Rooms are very clean and you can't beat the location, we would not stay anywhere else !!!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 18, August 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Rhonda Davis

Rhonda Davis

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"We love it"


The Garden City inn is very clean and the staff are very friendly. We will stay again

Listen Review
Reviewed 06, August 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Beverly J Quirk

Beverly J Quirk

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Amazing transformation "


We have stayed here in the past because it was close to whatever condo/house we were renting for the week ( we come in town a day or two early to avoid the traffic). It used to be pretty sketchy, but Omg, what a nice hotel now. The room was great, the beds are comfy, and the location is spectacular...what a difference!

Listen Review
Reviewed 29, July 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Jeffrey Rogers

Jeffrey Rogers

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"We love it,"


My family I visit here frequently! We love it, Our favorite is Ms. Lunchbox at the front desk, always greets us with a smile and goes above and beyond to make sure our stay is pleasant!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 13, July 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Melissa

Melissa

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Short vacation stay"


Stayed 7-5 thru 7-8-2023.. very friendly staff & service was great rooms clean and nice only issue was with the room and there was a lot of moisture on the floors & stayed wet most of the time.. full size fridge was not expecting to see that.. and that was nice to have… plenty of towels pool area was nice and clean great view of the ocean…I would recommend this motel for your vacation stay… from West Virginia

Listen Review
Reviewed 10, July 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Rick and Sally Howell

Rick and Sally Howell

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great Stay!"


First off the front desk lady I believe her name is Sheila is awesome! Her personality will make your day. The room was spotless. The pool is great. It is very convenient to restaurants we will definitely be back it’s not a big upscale hotel but that’s what makes it unique. Thank you for such a wonderful vacation.!

Listen Review
Reviewed 30, June 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Penelopy Stidd

Penelopy Stidd

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"A hidden oceanside gem"


This hotel was amazing. The staff were incredibly friendly. My room had an excellent view of the ocean and pool. The room was decorated in muted grays and clean, crisp whites. I could tell a lot of work and pride has been put into the upkeep of this small hotel. The pool was clean. The room cleanliness was spot on! I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying here again as soon as possible.

Listen Review
Reviewed 29, June 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
M Catrone

M Catrone

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Traveling with children"


Traveling with children is hard and this place made it so easy for me to enjoy myself along with the kids as well. Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay.

Listen Review
Reviewed 21, June 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Rhonda Owens

Rhonda Owens

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Love this hidden gem!"


We just returned to Kentucky from our stay at Garden City Inn. And I have just booked another week there for the end of August. Highly recommend this place. Room was nice. View is breathtaking. We brought our small dog. The staff is excellent! Always eager to help in any way. Special Thanks to Lisa and Sean for being so wonderful.

Listen Review
Reviewed 20, June 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Vance  Gilstrap

Vance Gilstrap

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great Place to Stay"


We have stayed at GCI many times,would highly recommend this hotel,rooms are clean and the staff are very accommodating and very friendly,you wont be disappointed

Listen Review
Reviewed 19, June 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Wilma Hale

Wilma Hale

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Nice"


Very nice and accommodating staff. Easy access to beach.

Listen Review
Reviewed 11, June 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Michelle Bayles

Michelle Bayles

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Will be coming there again!"


2nd time staying here and we love it! Liz at the front desk is really sweet, I highly recommend staying here. Will be coming there again!

Listen Review
Reviewed 25, May 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Adele Calieri

Adele Calieri

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Liz"


Just wanted to say that a group of us spent the night here and the desk clerk Liz was amazing. Our room was booked under the name of Marylou Maggio . Definitely would stay there again! Shout out to the cleaning girl too.

Listen Review
Reviewed 13, May 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Sherri Hartsell

Sherri Hartsell

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Wonderful "


This place is charming and comfortable. Perfect location. Close to Garden city pier. The staff was friendly and made you feel welcome. The pool was crystal clear and didn't wreak of chemicals. Beds were comfortable, nice fluffy pillows. Room was very clean. Simple perfection . I can't wait to stay here again

Listen Review
Reviewed 22, April 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Melissa Calvert

Melissa Calvert

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Helpful & Professional Staff"


Awesome time, EVEN WITH A BROKEN ANKLE!!!!! ACCOMMODATIONS AVAILABLE. HELPFUL & PROFESSIONAL STAFF.

Listen Review
Reviewed 17, April 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Arthur Beroth

Arthur Beroth

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great Location and Great Staff"


I had a very pleasant stay here last week. The location right on the beach is great! The room was clean and the bathroom shower is wonderful. Kim and Liz at the Front Desk gave efficient and friendly service. Also Craig (Housekeeping maybe?) is also very nice. The mini mart next door is convenient. I hope to stay here again.

Listen Review
Reviewed 30, March 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
K Dillon

K Dillon

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"The staff were very nice and helpful"


My room was clean, the beds were very comfortable with a choice of pillow types, the shower was fantastic it was the best shower I have ever had at the beach. The staff were very nice and helpful also the price was right! I will be back.

Listen Review
Reviewed 30, March 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Ashley Presnell

Ashley Presnell

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Amazing "


Clean, comfortable, cozy, quiet and relaxing atmosphere! Staff is friendly and helpful and makes you feel like family! This will be my family’s go to spot from now on!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 12, March 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Amanda Greenlaw

Amanda Greenlaw

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Absolutely one of my favorite winter discoveries!!"


Absolutely one of my favorite winter discoveries!! The place was affordable(in December) and ridiculously close to the ocean. Well appointed rooms that could use some TLC if you looked too close. The beds were clean and comfortable and the heater worked well. The bathroom was very clean. The staff I met were very friendly and helpful! I will definitely go back!

Listen Review
Reviewed 14, February 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Reese alford

Reese alford

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Nice remodeled rooms"


Nice remodeled rooms. Very friendly staff. Easy check in. No elevator. Remodeled patio/pool area. Quiet No problems.

Listen Review
Reviewed 22, January 2023

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Terry Floyd

Terry Floyd

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Surprised "


My wife and I received professional and courteous staff assistance from the front desk as well as the housekeeper. The rooms were very clean and neatly groomed, and the price was very affordable as well. We would recommend this place of business for your future adventures to this area.

Listen Review
Reviewed 22, December 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Michael Saviano

Michael Saviano

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"We love staying"


We love staying at garden City inn because it's right on the beach and the staff is always excellent, they treat us like family and I always feel very comfortable here. It's always clean and quiet and it makes me feel happy to be here

Listen Review
Reviewed 14, December 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Pam Farmer

Pam Farmer

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Garden city inn"


Newly renovated, clean, comfortable bed, friendly staff. We'd definitely book again.

Listen Review
Reviewed 11, December 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Karlena nelson

Karlena nelson

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Perfect spot for us!"


The staff was so friendly! That’s always a win! The room was clean and super cute when we arrived. We were on the second floor and our view was awesome! This is one of the few places that allow dogs! Our French bulldog Dexter was able to join the family trip. One of the best things for this mom was the broom/dust pan I the room for our use. The beach came back to the room a few times! Great place!

Listen Review
Reviewed 27, November 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Lori Crooks

Lori Crooks

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Perfect area to relax"


Beautiful area of the South Carolina coast. One of the small towns just below Myrtle Beach. Perfect area to relax, walk the beach.

Listen Review
Reviewed 28, October 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Larry

Larry

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great all around "


For a, here we go vacation. We could not have found a better place. Not a pet person, so was worried about hair and smells like I’ve experienced before. As clean and fresh as you could ask. Ask about the stairs but well worth it!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 26, October 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Kathy McIver

Kathy McIver

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"The desk clerks were all very nice and helpful"


It's a small place, four floors high with only 36 rooms and no elevator, but it's clean, well maintained and fairly newly refurbished with comfortable beds and no carpeting which is good, as it sits right on the beach and all rooms overlook the ocean. A well cared for pool and pool deck are right there also overlooking the beach. The desk clerks were all very nice and helpful. There is a small store attached to the street side of the building and numerous restaurants nearby.

Listen Review
Reviewed 14, September 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Andrea M

Andrea M

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Very nice place to stay!"


Very nice place to stay! Oceanfront..nice pool ..front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating! Rooms quite clean and comfortable!

Listen Review
Reviewed 24, August 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Antoine Sadler

Antoine Sadler

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Room clean and beds was comfortable"


Don't give out 5 stars often. Bill at the front desk was very professional and helpful. Can't say enough about Bill. He set the tone from the start. Room clean and beds was comfortable.

Listen Review
Reviewed 13, July 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Loreen Johnson

Loreen Johnson

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Pet friendly "


Pet friendly and the back pool deck is the best! Steps from the beach and freat vibe there. Nothing fancy but clean and everything you need. Its smaller and less crowd in pool area.

Listen Review
Reviewed 09, June 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Andy Hill

Andy Hill

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"location is awesome and the staff was friendly."


What a great stay we had. The location is awesome and the staff was friendly.

Listen Review
Reviewed 23, May 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Lisa Sinclair

Lisa Sinclair

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Personable"


Hey y’all! I have stayed at Garden City Inn several times. Every time has been a pleasure. I’m a senior and a lot of guest fall in this category. Any one is welcome, young, old, canine and anything in between. I have to say- each experience was unique but with the same outcome. Satisfaction. The rooms are clean, the staff go out of their way to meet your needs and management are friendly and accommodating. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

Listen Review
Reviewed 22, May 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Brent P

Brent P

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great Place"


Love location ,our room on first floor was newly renovated , bathroom was all new, beds comfortable, Staff was friendly, pool clean. So convenient to pool and beach. we'll be back

Listen Review
Reviewed 22, May 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Jen

Jen

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great Place"


We loved our visit. The staff was friendly, the room was as close as you could get to the ocean, the parking was easy, the beds and pillows and shower were great. The toilet handle was very loose and there was a cup of water on the counter and some water stains on the ceiling, but such minor things for the great price, atmosphere, and convenience. The little store on site was perfect and I personally preferred no elevator. It's a hidden gem for anyone who doesn't need frills but likes the oceanfront, pool, and a small, quiet, safe hotel to relax in with your pet.

Reviewed 28, April 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Sandra V

Sandra V

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"This location was perfect; right on the beach."


This location was perfect; right on the beach. The pool was crystal clear, a variety of seating for shade or sun. The mattress and bedding appeared to be brand new and quite comfortable! The staff were very helpful especially Tiffany. Towels were plentiful and new. The kitchenette could have been stocked better, but we managed. There were pots and pans, spatula, paper coffee cups, 1 glass, 1 fork, small coffee maker and plenty of coffee grounds and sweeteners. Every person(staff and visitors) we spoke to was friendly and the atmosphere was happy and helpful. Oh, and the price? Excellent! Thank you.

Listen Review
Reviewed 14, April 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Rachel D

Rachel D

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Clean and updated! "


Price and location can't be beat! Staff were very sweet ! There is remodeling of some rooms but it was never loud and staff hustling and bustling cleaning and smiling. Would definitely come back to this place!

Listen Review
Reviewed 24, March 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Mike Dahms

Mike Dahms

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Outstanding"


From the front office and staff, through the rooms, location, and exterior appointments a VERY pleasant surprise. Totalky enjoyed our stay, made nicer by the friendly atmosphere.

Listen Review
Reviewed 23, March 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Michele Thomas

Michele Thomas

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Beautiful view of the beach."


Beautiful view of the beach.

Listen Review
Reviewed 20, February 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Reggie steward

Reggie steward

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Really enjoyed my stay."


Really enjoyed my stay. Would've been 5 stars but there's no elevator....lol. Friendly staff and very clean rooms were a plus..👍👍

Listen Review
Reviewed 03, January 2022

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
 Lisa Lynch

Lisa Lynch

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"We loved this little hotel!"


We loved this little hotel! The staff was so friendly and helpful, especially Judy! Our room was on the 3rd floor and was recently renovated. The beds and pillows were comfortable. I don't understand why so many people are complaining about minor things. Sure they are understaffed right now. Every buisness is. But these people are busting their butts to get rooms cleaned! The hotel is SMACK DAB ON THE BEACH! The pool deck is wonderful. No, there is no elevator, but honestly, no big deal. The hotel is only 4 stories tall. We loved everything about our stay and will definitely see those gracious, friendly people again!

Listen Review
Reviewed 13, December 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
 jim dearth

jim dearth

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Friendly staff"


Friendly staff great view of the ocean reasonably priced convenience store next door very simple and adequate

Listen Review
Reviewed 02, November 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Janine Fulmer

Janine Fulmer

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Love this place."


Love this place. Beautiful remodeling.

Listen Review
Reviewed 10, October 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Dwight

Dwight

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Wonderful"


Great place, great location, great staff! We'll be back!

Listen Review
Reviewed 29, September 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Tina grindstaff

Tina grindstaff

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"The front desk assistant manager"


Very rude and argumentative ask to speak to general manager and she refused please call me I have a lot to say 423 483 1583

Listen Review
Reviewed 27, September 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Kevin Williams

Kevin Williams

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Clean rooms !!"


Clean rooms friendly staff

Listen Review
Reviewed 08, September 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Jody T

Jody T

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Awesome view."


Awesome view. Comfy bed. Just steps away from beach. Perfect for the price.

Listen Review
Reviewed 10, August 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Leonard Crowe (Lenny)

Leonard Crowe (Lenny)

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Good place"


Good place

Listen Review
Reviewed 01, July 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Kristy Pennington

Kristy Pennington

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Absolutely wonderful place to stay"


What an absolutely wonderful place to stay. We showed up in a big truck (as in an 18 wheeler without the trailer) and he made room for us to park it, then he gave us a ride down to the beachwear shop to get what we needed and came back and picked us up. I would recommend this quaint little facility to anyone who asks.

Listen Review
Reviewed 02, June 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Tammy Burgan

Tammy Burgan

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Friendly staff. Clean rooms."


Second time staying here. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Love it here!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 04, May 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Melanie Bradshaw

Melanie Bradshaw

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Happy!!"


To be honest we had stopped eating at Fatz when they drastically changed their menu a while back. Thankfully they've brought back some of those items and we went back to relish in familiar foods. There's only one more thing they could do and that's bring back the Onyum burger, dads favorite. But he settles for the calabash shrimp platter until then. The staff has been friendly every visit so far and the restaurant is clean. Even with these times we're in we don't have fears of eating at Fatz.

Listen Review
Reviewed 20, April 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Zanny Lawson

Zanny Lawson

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Very Accommodating!"


This is strictly for the front desk. Mrs.tiffany was a very wonderful lasy to speak to and helped me with all my questions and helped me get the help I needed thank you!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 09, March 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Sherry Hill

Sherry Hill

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Super staff!"


We went to spend our Anniversary Friday through Monday. Clean room and the supply everything you need. Already booked for a week in June. Super staff

Listen Review
Reviewed 05, February 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Scott Miller

Scott Miller

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Very Nice & Convenient!"


Very nice. Smaller, mom and pop style hotel. Away from the hustle of Myrtle Beach but close enough to run up to do stuff. Close to a real nice State Park.

Listen Review
Reviewed 25, January 2021

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Melony McNeil

Melony McNeil

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Everything Perfect, Highly Recommended!"


We checked in late afternoon. The lady that checked us in was absolutely wonderful! So very kind and friendly! The room was great. Great price as well. Very clean and quiet! All rooms were oceanfront with a balcony, full size fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. There was also a nice pool, covered gazebo with comfy couch and chairs, 2 large gas grills, dining tables around the pool area, and another seating area with couch and chairs. I would highly recommend this place!!

Listen Review
Reviewed 28, December 2020

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Angie Hansen

Angie Hansen

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great Experience."


Its off the beaten path. Management and staff are extremely nice. The room was very clean. Full sized fridge, coffee maker, coffee,microwave, hairdryer . Very comfortable beds beautiful oceanfront views. What more could you ask for.

Listen Review
Reviewed 06, November 2020

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Allison Lemoine

Allison Lemoine

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Friendly and Nice stay."


Great place to stay. They accept dogs. Staff is helpful & friendly. Be staying here for years & will continue to. 🐶❤❤❤

Listen Review
Reviewed 18, August 2020

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
 Paula

Paula

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Excellent staff "


I could not ask for better front desk service. I think her name was Judy very polite and friendly quick check inn. The rooms was very clean when we arrived quite place to stay definitely will be back.

Listen Review
Reviewed 23, June 2020

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Kevin

Kevin

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Excellent Location"


Modern, clean oceanfront-view room. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice pool and patio area. Would definitely stay here again!

Listen Review
Reviewed 10, October 2019

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms
Julia Arquette

Julia Arquette

1 Review

Level 1 Contributor

"Great stay"


Stayed here with my family. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Pool area was clean and nice. right in front of the beach. You can sit in a lounge chair and enjoy an amazing view of the ocean. this Inn luks like recently renovated and well managed. Price is also good. I had a great time staying here. Can't wait to go there again. Thanks to staff and manager at Garden Inn.

Listen Review
Reviewed 31, January 2019

Rating

Service
Location
Rooms